Upcoming Events

Sun Feb 18, 2018

Sun Feb 25, 2018

Thu Mar 1, 2018

Research Seminar: MA Presentations

-

Location: Special Collections, Hesburgh Library

The Italian Research Seminar: MA Presentations

Genevieve Lyons (Notre Dame) - “Alessandro Blasetti’s Cinema and the Fantastic: A Closer Look at the Unmarried Woman”

Katie Sparrow (Notre Dame) - “Representations of Self: Dante’s Use of First Person in the Vita Nova

All are welcome for a brief discussion and a reception following the talks.

 

Co-sponsored by Italian Studies at Notre Dame and the William and Katherine Devers Program in Dante Studies.

Read More

Sun Mar 4, 2018

Mon Mar 5, 2018

French Translation Workshop

-

Location: 131 Decio Hall

Atelier Traduction Spring 2018

Come practice your language skills in this French Translation workshop!

We meet once a month on a Monday from 5-6pm in Decio 131. Feel free to come

to one or all of them! Bring a text with you or get ready for a surprise! 

At least one year of French required. See the poster for more details.…

Read More

Wed Mar 7, 2018

Tertulia

-

Location: Decio Commons (1st Floor- Decio Hall)

Tertulia Flyer Sp18

Improve your conversational skills in Spanish!…

Read More

Thu Mar 8, 2018

Sun Mar 11, 2018

Sun Mar 18, 2018

Tue Mar 20, 2018

Free Yoga Classes in Italian

-

Location: Smith Center Studio 1

In need of exercising, relaxing and keeping up with your Italian? You can do all three in just one hour! Classes will be conducted mostly in Italian with some English to illustrate poses. With Professor of Italian and Yoga instructor Tiziana Serafini.…

Read More

Sun Mar 25, 2018

Thu Mar 29, 2018

Research Seminar: "Atlantic Libraries: Renaissance Italy and the American Colonies" (Diego Pirillo, UC Berkeley)

-

Location: Rare Books and Special Collections

The Italian Research Seminar

Diego Pirillo (UC Berkeley) - "Atlantic Libraries: Renaissance Italy and the American Colonies"

 

By studying several private and public libraries in colonial America this talk will present the first findings of a larger project that studies the circulation of books, ideas and knowledge in the Protestant Atlantic and investigates the many ways in which early American readers collected, appropriated and manipulated Italian Renaissance texts. Diego Pirillo (Ph.D., Scuola Normale Superiore) is Associate Professor of Italian Studies at the University of California, Berkeley.

 

The talk will be followed by a discussion and a reception. Co-sponsored by Italian Studies at Notre Dame and the William and Katherine Devers Program in Dante Studies.

Read More

Sun Apr 1, 2018

Wed Apr 4, 2018

Tertulia

-

Location: Decio Commons (1st Floor - Decio Hall)

Tertulia Flyer Sp18

Improve your conversational skills in Spanish!…

Read More

Sun Apr 8, 2018

Mon Apr 9, 2018

French Translation workshop

-

Location: 131 Decio Hall

Atelier Traduction Spring 2018

Come practice your language skills in this French Translation workshop!

We meet once a month on a Monday from 5-6pm in Decio 131. Feel free to come

to one or all of them! Bring a text with you or get ready for a surprise! 

At least one year of French required. See the poster for more details.…

Read More

Sun Apr 15, 2018

Thu Apr 19, 2018

Research Seminar: "From Surface to Symptom and Back Again: Reading Isabella d’Este’s Correspondence" - Deanna Shemek (UC Santa Cruz)

-

Location: Special Collections

The Italian Research Seminar

Deanna Shemek (UC Santa Cruz) - “From Surface to Symptom and Back Again: Reading Isabella d’Este’s Correspondence”

The talk will be followed by a discussion and a reception. Co-sponsored by Italian Studies at Notre Dame and the William and Katherine Devers Program in Dante Studies.

Read More

Sun Apr 22, 2018

Wed Apr 25, 2018

Free Yoga Classes in Italian

-

Location: Smith Center Studio 1

In need of exercising, relaxing and keeping up with your Italian? You can do all three in just one hour! Classes will be conducted mostly in Italian with some English to illustrate poses. With Professor of Italian and Yoga instructor Tiziana Serafini.…

Read More

Sun Apr 29, 2018

Mon Apr 30, 2018

French Translation Workshop

-

Location: 131 Decio Hall

Atelier Traduction Spring 2018

Come practice your language skills in this French Translation workshop!

We meet once a month on a Monday from 5-6pm in Decio 131. Feel free to come

to one or all of them! Bring a text with you or get ready for a surprise! 

At least one year of French required. See the poster for more details.…

Read More

Sun May 6, 2018

Sun May 13, 2018