Upcoming Events By Month

« April 2018 »

Sun Apr 1, 2018

Wed Apr 4, 2018

Tertulia

-

Location: Decio Commons (1st Floor - Decio Hall)

Tertulia Flyer Sp18

Improve your conversational skills in Spanish!…

Read More

Sun Apr 8, 2018

Mon Apr 9, 2018

French Translation workshop

-

Location: 131 Decio Hall

Atelier Traduction Spring 2018

Come practice your language skills in this French Translation workshop!

We meet once a month on a Monday from 5-6pm in Decio 131. Feel free to come

to one or all of them! Bring a text with you or get ready for a surprise! 

At least one year of French required. See the poster for more details.…

Read More

Tue Apr 10, 2018

Wed Apr 11, 2018

Thu Apr 12, 2018

Fri Apr 13, 2018

Sat Apr 14, 2018

Sun Apr 15, 2018

Wed Apr 18, 2018

Thu Apr 19, 2018

Research Seminar: "From Surface to Symptom and Back Again: Reading Isabella d’Este’s Correspondence" - Deanna Shemek (UC Santa Cruz)

-

Location: Special Collections

The Italian Research Seminar

Deanna Shemek (UC Santa Cruz) - “From Surface to Symptom and Back Again: Reading Isabella d’Este’s Correspondence”

The talk will be followed by a discussion and a reception. Co-sponsored by Italian Studies at Notre Dame and the William and Katherine Devers Program in Dante Studies.

Read More

Sun Apr 22, 2018

Wed Apr 25, 2018

Free Yoga Classes in Italian

-

Location: Smith Center Studio 1

In need of exercising, relaxing and keeping up with your Italian? You can do all three in just one hour! Classes will be conducted mostly in Italian with some English to illustrate poses. With Professor of Italian and Yoga instructor Tiziana Serafini.…

Read More

Thu Apr 26, 2018

Lecture: "Towards a New Biography of Dante Alighieri" - Paolo Pellegrini (Verona)

-

Location: Rare Books and Special Collections, Hesburgh Library

Paolo Pellegrini received his Ph.D. in Philology of Italian Literature. He has been a tenured Assistant Professor in Italian philology and linguistics (SSD 10/F-3) at Università di Verona, Department of Cultures and Civilizations, licensed to the role of Full Professor in 2017. His talk will concern Dante's biography. New documents and a new and deeper way of studying Dante's works, their texts and their historical and cultural context carried on by younger scholars is disclosing a different biographical perspective: it is time to write a new life of Dante which could take into account and exploit previous studies which have looked at Dante's life.

Read More

Fri Apr 27, 2018

Re-reading Dante's Vita nova: Chapters 19-24, teleconference

-

Location: Room 121, Information Technology Center

Re-reading Dante's Vita nova: Chapters 19-24, teleconference

"Re-reading Dante’s Vita nova" is a collaborative research project involving researchers from University College London, the University of Bristol, the University of Cambridge, the University of Leeds, the University of Notre Dame, the University of Oxford, the University of Reading, and the University of Warwick. This event will be hosted at the University of Bristol, and the discussion will take place mostly in English. Notre Dame will participate via teleconference. Breakfast provided.

The full schedule of events may be found here.

Read More

Sun Apr 29, 2018